On Thursday 5 December 2019, the Prime Minister announced the consolidation of departments across the Australian Public Service as outlined in the Administrative Arrangements Order made on 5 December 2019 with effect from 1 February 2020.


On 1 February 2020, the Department of Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business merged with the Department of Education, to form the new Department of Education, Skills and Employment.


The Ministers responsible for this portfolio are:

  • The Hon Dan Tehan MP – Minister for Education
  • Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash – Minister for Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business
  • The Hon Steve Irons MP – Assistant Minister for Vocational Education, Training and Apprenticeships
  • Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck – Minister for Youth and Sport and Minister for Aged Care and Senior Australians
  • The Hon Andrew Gee MP – Minister for Decentralisation and Regional Education

See the Department’s About Us page for more information.

View the Departments latest education information, skills and employment news via their Facebook page.